Zesty Sriracha Shrimp Avocado Salad Bowl

Posted: May 19, 2015 in Seafood
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Shrimp Avocado Bowl-373

Confession time. I have a huge obsession with avocados… and cilantros.

Lately I’ve been on a healthy kick since I’ve been working out more at the gym. So undoubtedly my diet has changed a little bit. Nothing drastic, but just that I’ve been adding avocados to a lot of my dishes.

So I’ve been busy experimenting with recipes that are quick and easy for everyone to make. Plus I just love the taste of cilantros so I was finding an excuse to just add that into my recipes. My grandma has a garden and nothing beats the taste of fresh cilantro straight from her garden.

Now sriracha is optional in this recipe but I would definitely recommend adding it into the salad since it gives it a great flavor with the key lime juice. I know not everyone would like adding raw onions into their salad so you can always try to replace it with cucumbers. It will still have that crunchy texture in the salad.

OK, so I was “borrowing” the idea of using the avocado skin as a serving vessel from Pinterest. It’s cute and plus it cuts down on the dishwashing too!

This dish is so green that I think it’ll make The Joker jealous!!!
Shrimp Avocado Bowl-369

TZesty Sriracha Shrimp Avocado Salad Bowl
Adapted from skinnytaste.com (http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/05/zesty-lime-shrimp-and-avocado-salad.html)
Prep: 15 Mins   |   Cooking Time: 25 mins
Ingredients:

  • 1 lb jumbo cooked shrimp, peeled and deveined, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp – 2 tsp sriracha (to taste)
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 tbsp key lime juice
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 medium tomato, diced
  • 1 hass avocado, diced
  • 1 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste

Directions:
Step 1:
If your shrimps are raw, cook in a pan with garlic. Once cooled, chop shrimp into pieces.
Step 2:
In a small bowl combine sriracha, red onion, lime juice, olive oil, pinch of salt and pepper. Let them marinate at least 5 minutes, this will get rid of the bitter taste from the onion.
Step 3:
In a large bowl combine chopped shrimp, avocado, tomato, along with the marinated onion. Add cilantro and gently toss. Adjust salt and pepper to taste.
Step 4:
Serve delicious salad mixture into avocado skin as bowls. Garnish with chopped cilantro and take LOTS of pictures!

Hope you enjoy this recipe, try it out and let me know what ya think!
Knighty-Knight.

Leave a Reply

