Tofu Katsu Curry-353

I love Japanese food, but since being gluten-free I noticed that I wasn’t able to eat a lot of my favorite meals. Stupid wheat flour!

One of the dishes that I missed the most is curry roux. Japanese curry. Oh I just LOVE Japanese curry! I used to buy Vermont House curry all the time. What I loved about Vermont House curry was the apple flavor, it gave the curry a subtle hint of sweetness. But I was almost in tears as I stood in the aisle at the market when I read the ingredients list. ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR! So for a long time I had to give up making curry.

[ Insert dramatic music from Kdrama here. Or maybe Long Time No See by iKon/Team B. ]

Long time no see
그동안 어떻게 지냈니 (How have you been now?)
너무 오랫동안 기다렸지 (You’ve been waiting for me for so long)
이제 어디 안가 (Now, I’m not going anywhere)
Baby don’t worry

I never thought the day would come where I would reunite with curry roux. Sure I was in tears from the onions, but I was definitely in joy to eat delicous curry once again. Yes, the curry roux had to be made from scratch. Yes, it took a couple of hours to make. Yes, it’s not exactly an easy dish to make. And yes, LOTS of prepping has to be done before you get to sit down and enjoy it. But it’s worth it!

But of course I wouldn’t settle for just ordinary curry roux… I always find a way to add different flavors into many recipes. During a recent episode of cooking battle on Running Man, one of the contestants played with the idea of curry and kimchi and I knew I had to try it.

This just shows mama that watching TV CAN be very educational!

Are you hungry yet? GOOD! Grab your wooden spatulas and save your belly for some delicious Kimchi-Curry!

Tofu Katsu Curry-343

Tofu Katsu Kimchi-Curry

Adapted from Just One Cookbook (http://www.justonecookbook.com/recipes/japanese-beef-curry/)
Prep: 25 Mins   |   Cooking Time: 2 hrs
Ingredients:

  • 340 g yellow onion, diced
  • 115 g carrots, chopped and diced
  • 135 g vegan kimchi daikon
  • 130 g mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon Earth Balance Vegan Butter
  • 1 tablespoon, olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 inch ginger, grated
  • 1½ tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon Gochujang (Hot pepper paste)
  • ½ cup red wine
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 100 g homemade Japanese curry roux
  • 1 tablespoon soy milk
  • 1½ tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoon Fuji apple, grated
  • Tofu katsu

Directions:
Step 1:
Dice the onion. Cut the carrot into slices and use flower shaped vegetable cutter. Do NOT wash mushrooms, clean with a clean toothbrush and slice into ¼ inch thick.
Step 2:
In a large cast iron pot, heat the butter on low-medium heat and add the onion. Add the olive oil and stir to coat the onion with the oil. Add ½ teaspoon salt after 10 minutes and sauté the onion until it’s soft and translucent.
Step 3:
Add garlic, ginger, curry powder, tomato paste, and Gochujang and sauté for 2 minutes.
Step 4:
Add the wine and let the alcohol evaporate.
Step 5:
Add the vegetables and pour the vegetable broth until it covers the vegetables. Cover with the lid and bring it to a boil.
Step 6:
As it comes to a boil, use a fine mesh and skim off the scum and fat from the soup. We gotta make sure the soup is nice and clean!
Step 7:
Throw in a bay leaf, then place lid slightly ajar and let simmer until vegetables are tender. Don’t forget to skim the broth, occasionally.
Step 8:
In a separate bowl, dilute roux with a couple spoonful of broth from the pot. Then stir into the pot and stir to dissolve. But be VERY careful to not burn the delicious curry!
Step 9:
Add milk and Worcestershire sauce. Grate the apple to add a hint of sweetness. Simmer uncovered on low heat, stirring occasionally, until the curry becomes thick.
Step 10:
Serve the curry with tofu katsu and wasabi roe with rice. Take awesome pictures to show up Batman shaped tofu katsu.
Recipe Notes:

  • For added spicy flavor, while making curry roux add Gochugaru (Hot pepper flakes).

Hope you enjoy this recipe, try it out and let me know what ya think!
Knighty-Knight.

Leave a Reply

