veggie pot pie-238

Notice the star-shaped carrots… I like to have a little fun in my kitchen.

I remember when I was a young kid when my mom would heat up some frozen chicken pot pies for dinner and it was the best feeling in the world. NO JOKE!

The delicious filling with the crispy and flaky crusts… My mouth would water as I sit and wait those agonizing minutes until I got to dig my fork into that delicious pot pie.

It WAS delicious until curiosity got the best of me one day. I looked at the nutritional facts and my eyes went wide when I saw the amount of sodium from one serving of pot pie. From that day on my days of eating pot pies were over. Since I am gluten-free and pescetarian it has made it that much harder to find a vegetable pot pie at restaurants. Of course I could find them in the frozen section at my grocery store but have you not read my scare about the nutritional facts?! No thank you!!!

I’ve decided that enough was enough and that I needed to shut up and make my own delicious gluten-free vegetable pot pie with puff pastry.

Before you think I’m crazy, don’t let the long title scare you off. While most of the recipes I usually go for are short and simple, the steps in this recipe are actually quite easy. I promise you that the time you use to heat up a frozen pot pie, you could be making a homemade pot pie instead!

This recipe is adapted from Alton Brown’s Individual Chicken Pot Pie with Puff Pastry. Having been a fan of his show Good Eats for quite a while I can say safely that his recipes has never failed me. So you know it’s a guaranteed success!

Typical pot pie recipes calls for ramekins but that’s a little boring and it’s just not my style. So, why not have a little fun with the food? I’ve decided to use my Batman cookie cutters to make the crusts. My mom totally lied when she said I couldn’t play around with my food. HA! Look at me now!!!

I’m sure she would get a kick out of this. Let’s grab those aprons and put them on right now! It might get a little messy, so a towel right next to you might not be a bad idea as well.

veggie pot pie-228

Veggie Pot Pie

Adapted from Food Network, Alton Brown (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/individual-chicken-pot-pie-with-puff-pastry-recipe.html?oc=linkback)
Prep: 45 Mins   |   Total Time: 1 hr
Servings: 4
Ingredients:

Crust

  • 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 stick or 1/4 cup Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks, frozen
  • 
Ice water

Filling

  • 
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1½ teaspoons kosher salt, divided
  • ½ large yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 ounces white mushrooms, sliced 1/4-inch thick
  • 1 medium carrot, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch thick slices
  • 1 medium celery stalk, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon dried thyme
  • ¼ teaspoon dried tarragon
  • 1 ounce Earth Balance Vegan Butter
  • 1½ ounce gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • ¾ cups soymilk, room temperature
  • 4 ounces frozen green peas
  • ½ teaspoon freshly chopped thyme
  • ½ teaspoon freshly chopped tarragon

Directions:
For the crust to be delicious and flaky, the secret is chilling the butter in the freezer for at least an hour. Cut the butter into smaller cubes or slices then place in Ziploc bag before placing into freezer. Now it’s filling time!!!

For the filling:
Step 1:
Place a 10-inch cast-iron skillet over medium heat, pour 1 tablespoon vegetable oil and sing your favorite Jay Park song until it shimmers (it should only take a few minutes).
Step 2:
Continue to sing while adding the onions, mushrooms, carrots, celery, garlic, salt, black pepper, dried thyme, and dried tarragon, then stir to combine. Sauté the vegetables for about 5 minutes until the onions have softened, stirring occasionally.
Step 3:
Add the butter and melt. Stir in the flour and sauté for 1 to 2 minutes.
Step 4:
Gradually stir in the vegetable broth and milk into the vegetable mixture. Sing another Jay Park song while bringing to a simmer. Don’t forget to stir continually until the sauce thickens, about 3 minutes.
Step 5:
Remove the skillet from the heat. Don’t forget to wear oven mitts! Mix together the peas, fresh thyme, and fresh tarragon. Cover and set aside.

For the crust:
Step 1:
Position an oven rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350° F.
Step 2:
Take the butter out of the freezer. In food processor place butter and flour, pulse a few times until it resembles pea sized crumbs.
Step 3:
Place 1 tablespoon of iced water into mixture and pulse. Repeat this step until the dough doesn’t fall apart in hands.
Step 4:
Quickly shape the dough into a ball and flatten into a disk. Place on a floured surface a roll out to 1/8 inch thick. Spray a few mist of iced water when the dough starts to get warm. Use awesome Batman cookie cutters on dough, transport piecrusts safely to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Then brush melted butter on top or spray lightly with cooking spray for golden brown crusts.
Step 5:
Bake in the oven until golden and bubbly, about 10-15 minutes. Let sit for about 5 minutes before serving with pot pie filling.
Step 6:
Carefully spoon the vegetable mixture onto bowls and serve with awesome Batman pie crusts.

Recipe Notes:

  • Preheat oven to 400° F if you are using ramekins instead of nerdtastic cookie cutters.
  • Now I chose to use my Batman cookie cutters, but you could also place ramekins upside-down over the dough and use a paring knife to cut out circles about 1/2 inch larger on all sides. If using ramekins then press to seal around the edges of the dishes and crimp with a fork. Cut a slit in the middle.

Hope you enjoy this recipe, try it out and let me know what ya think!
Knighty-Knight.

Leave a Reply

